‘Mounting’ Mamiya RZ lenses to Canon 5D Mk2

Since I purchased my Canon 5D mk2, I have been trying to workout how best to mount my wonderful collection of Mamiya medium format RZ prime lenses.

The main problem is that the lenses have no integral focus control – this is all done in the body bellows. I could have destroyed my existing body, but I only have one and would have rendered the system useless.

The RZ lenses are very sharp and would rival many high-end 35mm lenses (I am sure), so you can understand my desire to bring the two systems together.

Having researched far and wide over the last few years, I came across this recent post by Colin Hawkins who has so far successfully married a Nikon DSLR with a Mamiya RZ lens.

So inspired by Colin’s post, I have purchased a few component parts off Ebay and will see how far I get with the ‘experiment’. I will keep you posted.

There are few bespoke products on the market (Cambo X2-Pro and Sinar p-slr) which are expensive and therefore a lot more than an amateur like myself would want to spend.

Leave a comment